With iOS 16, Apple is adding some major updates to the Messages app, introducing features that many people have been waiting for for years. This guide highlights what’s new in the Messages app in iOS 16, iPadOS 16, and macOS Ventura, as many of the messaging features are cross-platform.
When you send an iMessage in iOS 16, you can edit it up to 15 minutes after sending it. To edit an iMessage, simply long-press on the message you want to fix, add your edit, and then hit the blue check mark to send again.
There are some precautions to be aware of when using this feature. This only works with iMessages, not SMS messages, so both people must have an iPhone for this to work effectively. Edited messages will be duplicated for those not running iOS 16.
To use the message editing feature, participants need to be using the latest updates from Apple, including iOS 16h, iPadOS 16h, macOS Venturah, and watchOS 9.
Those running older operating systems or Android may be referred to as “Edited for .” The written text will appear [text]When receiving an edited iMessage.
The Messages app doesn’t provide a history of the iMessage being edited, so the person on the other end may not know what the change was.
iMessage undo send
If you send an iMessage and then change your mind, you can use the Undo feature to take it back. You can unsend an iMessage up to 15 minutes after sending it.
Like iMessage editing, unsending iMessage has limitations that you need to be aware of. If you use the undo send feature on a message sent to someone running an older version of iOS, it won’t work and the message won’t be canceled.
In this case, the person on the other end won’t be able to see that you’ve canceled it, although it will disappear from your iPhone. If someone is running an older version of iOS, it will say the following:
“You didn’t send the message. [Person] You may still be able to view your message on devices running earlier versions of iOS.”
For Submit not to work, participants must be running iOS 16, iPadOS 16, macOS Ventura, and watchOS 9 on their devices. iMessage is required as this feature does not work on SMS messages.
Mark as unread
iOS 16 has a new mark as unread feature, which allows you to mark an SMS or iMessage as new, so it has a blue dot to remind you to come back.
Marking as unread is useful when you receive a message and don’t have time to read or address it right away because it places it as a new message with a notification badge in the Messages app.
To mark a thread as unread, long press on the thread and then tap on the “Mark as unread” option.
recover deleted messages
Under the “Filters” interface in the Messages app, there’s a new “Recently Deleted” section that aggregates all the texts you’ve deleted. If you accidentally delete a message that you didn’t want to be deleted, you can get it back here.
This interface has dedicated “Delete All” and “Recover All” options to handle all messages at once, or you can select an individual message and choose to delete or recover it.
share play compatibility
SharePlay, a feature designed to let you use apps via FaceTime, watch TV, listen to music, and much more with friends and family, has been expanded to the Messages app. In any app that supports SharePlay, you can choose to start a SharePlay session with the Messages app.
Participants in the SharePlay experience can view similar content being discussed via iMessage. This is useful for collaborating across multiple apps, playing games, exercising, talking about TV shows and movies, and any other SharePlay interaction. SharePlay now supports Messages and FaceTime, so you can choose the communication method you prefer.
Collaboration is a new feature built into iOS apps. You can work together with colleagues, friends, or family in Files, Keynote, Numbers, Pages, Notes, Reminder, and Safari by sending an invitation to collaborate via Messages.
When a collaboration has started, all invited participants will see updates to messages when they edit the shared project in the app. Collaboration can be initiated with Messages or FaceTime.
Apple is expanding the built-in “Report Junk” feature in the Messages app to cover SMS/MMS messages, allowing spam messages to be reported to select carriers in the United States.
If you long-press an SMS/MMS message in the Unknown Senders section of the Messages app in iOS 16, you can select the “Report Spam” option. Using this option allows you to report a message as junk, send it to Apple and Verizon, and delete the message.
The Report Junk feature was previously available for iMessage, but the option to report SMS/MMS messages to both Apple and carriers is new.
Apple is making the Share With You API available for developers to create a dedicated Share With You section in their apps, which will collect app content that your friends send to that app. So, for example, if a friend submits a Zillow listing, you can see it in a new Shared With You section of the Zillow app.
It’s an alternative to third-party apps, and is an extension of the Share with You feature that Apple introduced in iOS 15. Shared With You takes links, photos, music and more from Safari, and makes them accessible in relevant places. app so that you don’t miss your friends’ content.
Apple also has a Messages Collaboration API that allows third-party apps to take advantage of the new collaboration feature that allows users to communicate in the Messages app while working together in another app.
Have questions about the iOS 16 Messages app, know of a feature we missed, or want to give feedback on this guide? Send us an email here.